LibreOffice user profile

From The Document Foundation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


The user profile is the folder storing all user related data like extensions, custom dictionaries, templates, etc. This folder is not removed when uninstalling or updating LibreOffice, so your customizations are kept.

Backup first

Before modifying your user profile, create a backup so you can return to the old user profile. LibreOffice developers might ask for a copy of your user profile for debugging and bugfixing so please do not delete the backup file instantly.

Resolving corruption

Many problems in LibreOffice can be caused by corruption in the user profile. When noticing strange behavior in LibreOffice the first thing to do is to reset the user profile. To do so, follow these steps:

LibreOffice 5.2 and older

  • close LibreOffice including "QuickStart" in system tray
  • rename the user profile folder from "user" to "user-old", locations for your operating system are documented below
  • restart LibreOffice and a new user profile will be generated

Test and see if the problem is gone.

  • If the problem persists, you can restore the previous profile because it was not the cause of the problem. To restore the previous profile, delete the new folder and give the old one its former name.
  • If the problem is solved, one or more files on your profile are corrupted.

LibreOffice 5.3 and newer

  • start LibreOffice and select Help > Restart in Safe Mode...
  • if your problem is that LibreOffice does not start at all, launch it from the command line with the parameter --safe-mode
  • in the 'Enter Safe Mode' dialog select 'Restart'
  • LibreOffice will restart and display the 'Safe Mode' dialog
  • select Continue in safe mode

Test and see if the problem is gone.

  • If the problem is solved, one or more files on your profile are corrupted.

Expert information

Find the location of your user profile: Tools ▸ Options ▸ LibreOffice ▸ Paths.

Default locations

Windows

  • %APPDATA%\libreoffice\4\user   (LibreOffice 4 & 5)
  • %APPDATA%\libreoffice\3\user   (LibreOffice 3)

Note: on a normal Windows install, %APPDATA% resolves to either "C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data" (up through Windows XP) or "C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming" (Vista or later), at least on English versions of Windows (part of the path may be localized on non-English versions).

GNU/Linux

  • /home/<user name>/.config/libreoffice/4/user   (LibreOffice 4 & 5)
  • /home/<user name>/.config/libreoffice/3/user   (LibreOffice 3 since 3.5.0)
  • /home/<user name>/.libreoffice/3/user   (prior to LibreOffice 3.5.0)

Note: This is for the LibreOffice packages distributed by The Document Foundation. Versions provided by your Linux distribution may use a slightly different path.

macOS

  • ~/Library/Application Support/LibreOffice/4/user   (LibreOffice 4 & 5)
  • ~/Library/Application Support/libreoffice/3/user   (LibreOffice 3)

LibreOffice Portable

  • LibreOfficePortable\Data\settings\


User profile content

Inside the user profile there are several highly specialized folders:

  • autocorr: the substitution table you can configure on Tools ▸ AutoCorrect Options
  • autotex: the "AutoText" (Edit ▸ AutoText) you created.
  • backup: the file backups you get when enabling the option "Always create backup copy" is enabled under Tools ▸ Options ▸ Load/Save ▸ General.
  • basic: all your macros.
  • config: some configuration files, especially toolbars for each module.
  • database: the databases you registered.
  • extensions: registered extensions
  • gallery: your personal gallery (Tools ▸ Gallery).
  • psprint: may contain a "driver" subfolder (which may be empty), a "fontmetric" subfolder (which may be empty), and a "pspfontcache" file (in which printer fonts are cached). The "psprint" folder may be missing entirely. If it is present, it may be deleted without ill effect. If it is deleted, it will not necessarily be recreated.
  • registry: contents the most part of the configuration files.
  • Scripts: contains the optional Folders for user-defined scripts: beanshell, java, javascript and python. (for example the scripts you find over: tools ▸ Macros ▸ Organize Macros ▸ python ▸ My Macros)
  • store: may either be empty or contain a file named ".templdir.cache" (in which templates are cached). The "store" folder may be missing entirely but is usually present. If present, it may be deleted without ill effect. If it is deleted, it is usually but not always recreated.
  • temp: may contain an "embeddedfonts" subfolder that in turn contains a "fromdocs" subfolder and a "fromsystem" subfolder. The "fromdocs" and "fromsystem" subfolders may either be empty or contain temporary files. The "temp" folder may also contain a file named "document_io_logring.txt", which is a log of executed instructions. The "temp" folder may be missing entirely. If it is present, it may be deleted without ill effect. If it is deleted, is is not always recreated.
  • template: here you can find your custom templates (File ▸ Templates ▸ Organize ▸ My templates)
  • uno_packages: the extensions installed by the user.
  • wordbook: the custom dictionaries. (see also this tutorial)

Some extensions (like OOoLatex) could add other folders.

NOTE: other than the user profile, LibreOffice considers the configuration for all users you can find in the subfolders inside the main installation folder (for example, /opt/libreoffice/share on Linux for the "official" LibreOffice build, or \Program files\libreoffice\share on Windows)


Reusing user profiles

A single user profile must only ever be accessed by a single LibreOffice process. Internally, if a single user starts multiple LibreOffice processes that would all access the same user profile, only the first process does any actual work, like opening documents for editing, and the excess processes pass on their command line arguments to the first one for processing. Especially, one must not reuse a single user profile across multiple accounts on one computer, or across computers.

Also, different versions of LibreOffice can store different sorts of data in their respective user profiles. If a new version of LibreOffice does not yet find a user profile at the default location for that version, it looks for existing user profiles from old LibreOffice or OpenOffice.org versions at well-known locations and migrates any data it can continue to use to the new location. Strange effects might occur, if you explicitly request a LibreOffice version to reuse a user profile from another version.